# IOWA STATE WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT BOARD MEETING CONFERENCE CALL January 8, 2016

#### **APPROVED MINUTES**

The Iowa Workforce Development Board of Directors met Friday, January 8, 2016, originating via conference call. Board Chair Andy Roberts called the meeting to order at 9:04 am.

# Roll Call was taken.

Voting Board members in attendance via phone included: Chair Andy Roberts, Vice-Chair Dee Vanderhoef, Sue Kmet, and Norene Mostkoff.

Non-Voting Board Members in attendance via phone included: Steven Ovel and Greer Sesson.

Board members absent were: Stacey Anderson, Robert Gilmore, Joe Greving, Suzanne Kmet, John Krogman, Ken Sagar, Drew Conrad, Greg Lewis, Gary Steinke, Jeremy Varner, Representative Kristen Running-Marquardt, Senator William Dotzler, Senator Jake Chapman, Representative Greg Forristall, David Mitchell and Rita Grimm.

IWD staff in attendance via phone included: Director Beth Townsend, Ben Humphrey, and Ed Wallace.

When roll call was taken a quorum was not established for this meeting. It was decided to have a recess and reconvene at 1:00 p.m.

Meeting reconvened at 1:00 p.m. via conference call. Board Chair Andy Roberts called the meeting to order at 1:06 p.m.

#### Roll Call was taken.

Voting Board members in attendance included via phone: Chair Andy Roberts, Vice-Chair Dee Vanderhoef, Sue Kmet, Robert Gilmore, and Norene Mostkoff.

Non-Voting Board Members in attendance included via phone: Steve Ovel.

Board members absent were: Stacey Anderson, Joe Greving, Suzanne Kmet, John Krogman, Ken Sagar, Drew Conrad, Greg Lewis, Gary Steinke, Greer Sisson, Jeremy Varner, Representative Kristen Running-Marquardt, Senator William Dotzler, Senator Jake Chapman, Representative Greg Forristall, David Mitchell and Rita Grimm.

IWD staff in attendance via phone included: Director Beth Townsend, Ben Humphrey, and Ed Wallace.

Quorum was established.

### **Local Board Membership Designation**

At their November 19 meeting, the State Board approved the local board recertification requests received from fourteen of the State's fifteen regions. The State Board deferred on approving Region 16 at the request of two board members in order to confirm the Region 16 board fully understood the structural change they were approving and the options they had before them before doing so. IWD leadership has met with previous Region 16 Board Chairperson Janet Fife-LaFrenz, current Regional Director Robert Ryan and previous Regional Director Debbie Dowell and we have confirmed the Region 16 board fully understood the structural change they were approving and the options they had before them and acted appropriately regarding this decision. The minutes of the board meetings at which this decision was discussed and approved reflect full discussion of the options and implications of the change being considered and the change was approved on a unanimous voice vote.

IWD leadership therefore recommends the State Board approve the request by the Region 16 Board of Directors to change their board structure to conform to the new WIOA board configuration requirements.

**Motion:** N. Mostkoff moved to approve the Region 16 board designation for the WIOA implementation. D. Vanderhoef second. **All Approved. None Opposed. Motion Approved.** 

The meeting adjourned at 1:26 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Citama Co Dister

Diana Sisler, Recorder