STATE OF IOWA WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT BOARD MEETING

Date: 03/06/2018		Board	Board Minutes		
Loc	ation: Greater Des Moines Botanical Garden				
	VOTING MEMBER	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT		
1	Kim Reynolds	Х			
2	Jake Chapman		Х		
3	Dave Deyoe		Х		
4	Beth Townsend	х			
5	Ryan Wise	Х			
6	Emily Wharton	Х			
7	David Mitchell	Х			
8	John Krogman, Chair	х			
9	Joe Greving	Х			
10	Jan Miller-Straub, Co-Chair	Х			
11	Lynn Schreder	х			
12	Randy Moore		Х		
13	Jay Iverson	х			
14	Anne Parmley		Х		
15	Ruby Mateos	Х			
16	Amy Larsen	Х			
17	Sondra Meyers	Х			
18	Becky Jacobsen	Х			
19	Steve Gilbert	Х			
20	Phil Tuning	Х			
21	Gina Bettini	х			
22	Jeff DeVries		Х		
23	Cara Sanders	Х			
24	Kelly Barrick	х			
25	Carrie Duncan	х			
26	Robert Gilmore	х			
27	Ken Sagar		Х		
28	Andy Roberts	х			
29	Jayson Henry	х			
30	Carmen Heck	х			
31	Quentin Hart	х			
32	Nancy McDowell		Х		
33	Richard Moon		Х		

	NON-VOTING MEMBER	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
34	Bill Dotzler		Х
35	Kirsten Running-Marquardt	х	
36	Drew Conrad	х	
37	John Smith		Х
38	Wendy Mihm-Herold	Х	
39	Rita Grimm		Х
40	Rosie Thierer	Х	
41	Jerry Bartruff		Х
42	Jerry Foxhoven	Х	
43	Greer Sisson	х	
44	Mary Cannon-James	х	

	ATTENDEE	PRESENT	NOT PRESENT
45	Linn, Myron Deputy Director	X	
46	Humphrey, Ben – IWD	Х	
47	Evans, Shelly – IWD	Х	

MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order, John Krogman, Chair.

Roll Call and establish Quorum, Shelly Evans, Board Administrator.

Introductions by Director Beth Townsend.

4.0 ACTION ITEM			
ACTION	1 st	2 nd	Unanimously
			Approved
Approval of Agenda.	Andy	Jan Miller-	Х
	Roberts	Straub	
5.0 ACTION ITEM			
ACTION	1 st	2 nd	Unanimously
			Approved
Approval of Minutes from 11/20/17 meeting.	Andy	Phil Tuning	Х
	Roberts		

Introduction of Governor Kim Reynolds by Director Beth Townsend.

Remarks by Governor Reynolds.

Presentation on Early Childhood Development by David E. Arens, Vice President Fiduciary Advisory Specialist, Wells Fargo.

Director's Report by Director Townsend.

- Impact of work @ IWD, staff and successes and shared letter from Kathy.
- Open house at IowaWORKS Des Moines Center.
- Kraft/Heinz Hiring Event held at IowaWORKS Center in Davenport.
- Siemens-Famesa Job Fair held at IowaWORKS Center in Fort Madison.
- Hiring for Change for ex-offenders. Full day event held in Clarinda.
- Youth Job Fairs with local high schools.
- Highway 30 Corridor Career Fair at IowaWORKS Centers in Marshalltown and Des Moines.
- Business Marketing Specialist Sherri Vaugh gives commencement speech at Denison Job Corp Center Winter Commencement.
- Home Base Iowa Success Story with veterans.
- Extended Career Experiences at IowaWORKS Center in Spencer and great feedback.
- Success Story at IowaWORKS Center in Sioux City. Assist homeless with getting jobs and foods stamps.
- Trade Exploration Day.
- Winter Frenzy Job Fair at IowaWORKS Center in Ottumwa.
- Update on FRIA. Introduction of Kathy Leggett.

Discussion on Draft Conflict of Interest Policy by Ben Humphrey.			
11.0 ACTION ITEM	TE THE EV		
MOTION	1 st	2 nd	Unanimously Approved
Motion to Adopt Conflict of Interest Policy.	Andy Roberts	Kelly Barrick	х
Update on U.S. Department of Labor's mandated Realignme Areas/Regions by Director Townsend.	ent of Iowa's	Local Worl	kforce Developmen
Update and Committee Report on Minority Outreach Standing Co	mmittee by Dir	ector Town	send.
Updated on Ex-Offender Reentry Committee by Lynn Schreder, Ch	nair of Ex-Offen	der Reentry	y Committee.
Update and Committee Report on Disability Access Standing Com Vocational Rehabilitation Services (IVRS) and Chairperson of the D			
16.0 ACTION ITEM			
MOTION	1 st	2 nd	Unanimously Approved
Motion to appoint new Chair to State Workforce Development Board. (John Krogman)	Andy Roberts	Jan Miller- Straub	Х
ACTION ITEM		118 35	
MOTION	1 st	2 nd	Unanimously Approved
Motion to appoint Vice Chair to State Workforce Development Board. (Lynn Schreder)	Beth Townsend	Jan Miller- Straub	Х
17.0 ACTION ITEM			
MOTION	1 st	2 nd	Unanimously Approved
Motion to address appointment of Chair to Youth Standing Committee at next meeting.	Andy Roberts	Phil Tuning	X
ACTION ITEM			
MOTION	1 st	2 nd	Unanimously Approved
Motion to Adjourn. Adjournment at 11:20 a.m.	Andy	Joe	Х

Respectfully Submitted,

Shelly Evans, Board Administrator

John Krogman, Chair

Roberts

Greving

July J. Krayman